Blood Ties

Related Titles
The Night Thief   The Fall Guy   Evil Behind That Door

Blood Ties
by Barbara Fradkin

Country handyman Cedric O’Toole finds his life turned upside down when a stranger named Steve shows up at his farm, claiming to be his brother. Steve believes they have the same father, and he is on a quest to find him, as Cedric’s unwed mother took the secret of their father’s identity to her grave.

Together Steve and Cedric embark on a hunt for answers. At every turn, people seem to have secrets: the police officer who investigated a suspicious death years ago and who is now the chief near retirement, Cedric’s aunt Penny, who knows all the gossip in the town but claims to know nothing about the death and, most alarming of all, Cedric’s own grandparents and uncle, who insist no good will come of his questions.

What are they all hiding? And does Cedric really want to know the answers?

Blood Ties is the fourth novel in a series featuring reluctant sleuth Cedric O’Toole.

Fry Reading Level: 3.2
ISBN: 9781459818255
Pub Date: August 27, 2019
Price: $9.95

Add to Cart

About the author

Barbara Fradkin is a child psychologist with a fascination for how we turn bad. Her compelling short stories haunt numerous magazines and anthologies, but she is best known for her two series of gritty, psychological detective novels, one featuring Ottawa Police Inspector Michael Green and the more recent one with foreign aid worker Amanda Doucette. Barbara won Arthur Ellis Best Novel Awards for both Fifth Son (2005) and Honour Among Men (2007). Barbara’s work as a school psychologist helping adolescents and younger children, many of whom struggled with reading, has also made her a strong advocate of programs that help to develop reading as a lifelong passion. She has written three Rapid Reads novels featuring a country handyman turned reluctant sleuth. For more information, please visit barbarafradkin.com.

Reviews

Booklist
"Perfect for fans of James Patterson’s BookShots series...Fradkin’s tale keeps readers engaged with just enough tantalizing details to provide intrigue and suspense."

Resources

Download chapter 1